Skip Navigation Links  
 

A New Study for People with Mild to Moderate Alzheimer's Disease



NOBLE is a clinical study to evaluate an investigational drug for patients with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease. Participants will receive the study drug or a placebo. During this study, if you are already taking Aricept or Namenda, you will probably continue to take it along with the study drug or placebo. The investigational drug may work by protecting brain cells which could result in improved memory. But, this has not been proven yet. We are doing this study to find out if this is true.

The study will enroll 450 patients with mild to moderate Alzheimer’s disease at many research sites across the United States. Total participation time is about 14 months, which includes screening, about one year of study treatment, and follow up to check safety.

You will be screened to see if you are eligible to participate. Screening includes tests like EKG, blood and urine exams, physical examination, and cognitive testing. Upon enrollment in the study, you will have a 1/3 chance of receiving the low dose of study drug, the high dose of study drug or placebo. Study participants will be seen by researchers every 4 weeks for the first 3 months, then every 6 to 8 weeks for the next 9 months, with a follow up visit 4 weeks later. Cognitive and physical evaluations and blood testing will be conducted at each visit. An MRI scan of the brain will be done at the beginning and end of the study.

Regularly scheduled physician visits are not disrupted by the study. Primary care physicians will be kept informed of your progress and laboratory results. You will also receive regular health assessments by health care professionals who specialize in Alzheimer’s disease.

Your participation is critical for developing effective treatments. People who have Alzheimer's disease are urgently needed to aid researchers in finding new approaches

Selected eligibility criteria:
  • Women and men aged 55-85 years old with mild to moderate Alzheimer's Disease
  • Receiving donepezil (Aricept®) treatment for at least 6 months
  • Living in the community (not nursing homes)
  • Have a study partner that has regular contact with you about 10 hours per week and who will come to study visits with you
  • Weight of no more than 220 pounds

This study is sponsored by Toyama Chemical Co., Ltd and is being conducted by the Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study (ADCS).

The NOBLE Study Locations
StateCitySiteContactTelephoneEmail
AZPhoenixBanner Alzheimer's InstituteDawn Batchuluun(602)839-4897Dawn.Batchuluun@bannerhealth.com
AZSun CityBanner Sun Health Research InstituteSherye Sirrel(623)832-6522sherye.sirrel@bannerhealth.com
AZTucsonArizona Health Sciences CenterLucia Rodriguez520-626-3576lrodriguez@neurology.arizona.edu
CAFullertonNeurology Center of North Orange CountySheraz Mossa(714)879-7200 x106smossa@neurologyoc.com
CALa JollaUniversity of California, San DiegoMichelle Herman(858)246-1305m1herman@ucsd.edu
CAOrangeUniversity of California, Irvine - Neuropsychiatric CenterFarah Toullier(714)456-7994ftoullie@uci.edu
CTHamdenGeriatric and Adult PsychiatryAndrea DeClement(203) 288-0414a.declement@gapcare.org
CTNew HavenYale University School of MedicineCameron DeLeone(203)764-8100cameron.deleone@yale.edu
CTNorwalkResearch Center for Clinical Studies, Inc.Kinjalben Patel(203) 838-0070kpatel@rccsmail.com
DCWashingtonGeorgetown UniversityKelly Behan(202)687-0413keb53@georgetown.edu
FLHollywoodInfinity Clinical Research, LLCJorge Riveros(954) 366-0277jriveros@infinityclinicalresearch.com
FLMiamiUniversity of MiamiMaria Mendoza-Puccini(305)243-0184mmendozapuccini@med.miami.edu
FLMiami BeachWien Center for Clinical ResearchAdriana Bohorquez(305)674-2121 ext55099Adriana.Bohorquez@msmc.com
FLNorth MiamiScientific Clinical Research, Inc.Nestor Morillo(305)722-1995nmorillo@segalinstitute.com
FLOcalaRenstar Medical ResearchPat Riddle(352)629-5800pat.riddle@renstar.net
FLSt. PetersburgMeridien ResearchGail McDonnell(813)877-8839gmcdonnell@meridienresearch.net
FLTampaStedman Clinical TrialsRyan DeWeese(813)971-8311ryan_deweese@stedmanclinicaltrials.com
GAAtlantaNeuroTrials Research, Inc.Sandra Beyer(404)851-9934sbeyer@neurotrials.com
GADouglassvilleWest Georgia Sleep Disorders Center & Neurology AssociatesArnetria Dancy6785082672arnetriaandjohn@gmail.com
GADouglassvilleWest Georgia Sleep Disorders Center & Neurology AssociatesFelicia Thomas(404)788-8353fthomas@medicalresearchsolutions.net
IAIowa CityUniversity of IowaKaren Smith(319)353-5158karen-ekstam@uiowa.edu
ILChicagoRush University Medical CenterDavid Sedillo(312)942-2633David_Sedillo@rush.edu
ILSpringfieldSouthern Illinois UniversityBarbara Lokaitis(217)545-9737blokaitis@siumed.edu
INElkhartIndiana Medical Research, LLCKay Stanley(574)296-3905kstanley@elkhartclinic.com
INIndianapolisIndiana UniversityAngie Secrest(317)963-7369secresta@iupui.edu
KSKansas CityUniversity of KansasAnnette Becker(913) 945-7674abecker@kumc.edu
KYLexingtonUniversity of KentuckyStacy Mercado(859)323-5550stacy.mercado@uky.edu
LABaton RougePennington Biomedical Research CenterVimala Rajapho(225)763-3184vimala.rajapho@pbrc.edu
MABostonBoston UniversityJane Mwicigi(617)638-5670jmwicigi@bu.edu
MEBangorAcadia Hospital and Eastern Maine Medical CenterClaudine Allen(207) 973-9013callen@emhs.org
MIAnn ArborUniversity of Michigan, Ann ArborJamie Miller(734)936-8036jamieann@med.umich.edu
MIEast LansingMichigan State UniversityMonika Spallinger(517)884-2286monika.spallinger@hc.msu.edu
MIKalamazooBronson Lakeview HospitalGail Massey(269)341-8774masseyg@bronsonhg.org
NCWinston-SalemWake Forest University Health SciencesSheri Mayer(336)713-8520smayer@wfubmc.edu
NEOmahaUniversity of Nebraska Medical CenterDiane Bessette(402)552-6233dbessett@unmc.edu
NJPrincetonPrinceton Medical InstituteKarleen Shim-Chim(609)921-3555 ext 11kshim-chim@gminstitutes.com
NVLas VegasCleveland Clinic Lou Ruvo Center for Brain HealthChristine Garcia(702)7017893garciac3@ccf.org
NYAmherstDent Neurologic InstituteCaroline Kumm(716)558-3492ckumm@dentinstitute.com
NYNew YorkColumbia UniversityRuth Tejeda(212)305-7661rbt41@columbia.edu
NYNew YorkMount Sinai School of MedicineJaclyn Pierce(212)659-8885jaclyn.pierce@mssm.edu
NYOrangeburgNathan Kline Institute for Psychiatric ResearchRaymundo Hernando(845) 398-5578hernando@nki.rfmh.org
NYRochesterUniversity of Rochester Medical CenterSusan Salem-Spencer(585)760-6562susan_salem-spencer@urmc.rochester.edu
NYSyracuseSUNY Upstate Medical UniversityAndrea McGlond(315)464-6409Mcglonda@upstate.edu
OHClevelandCase Western Reserve UniversitySusie Sami(216)464-6467susie.sami@case.edu
OKTulsaTulsa Clinical ResearchChristy Lisenbee(918)743-2349Christyl@tulsaclinicalresearch.com
PAPhiladelphiaUniversity of PennsylvaniaMartha Combs(215) 615-3084martha.combs@uphs.upenn.edu
PAPittsburghUniversity of PittsburghThomas Baumgartner(412) 692-2716baumgartnertc@upmc.edu
PAWillow GroveAbington Neurological AssociatesJenny McGowan(215)481-4039jmtrainer20@gmail.com
TexasForth WorthUniversity of North Texas Health Science CenterBarbara Harty(817)7352-193barbara.harty@unthsc.edu
TXHoustonHouston Methodist Neurological InstituteJennifer Garrett(713)441-9484jmgarrett@houstonmethodist.org
WIMadisonUniversity of WisconsinKatina DeShong(608)263-1739kldeshong@clinicaltrials.wisc.edu
WIWaukeshaIndependent Psychiatric ConsultantShelley Schultz(262)513-0700slschultz@ipcresearch.org